factory setting banks gone?

Found a bug ? Report here

factory setting banks gone?

Postby kokoko3k » Sun Mar 29, 2015 6:53 pm

In the latest archlinux package, 0.32.3, all previous factory settings are gone.
brummer is the only one present.
i even tried guitarix from git, but no luck.
Fortunately i've them all saved, and working.
User avatar
kokoko3k
 
Posts: 57
Joined: Wed Jan 16, 2013 12:23 pm

Re: factory setting banks gone?

Postby brummer10 » Mon Mar 30, 2015 3:57 am

Hi kokoko

Yes, indeed I've removed all factory presets. Some people have complained about them:
http://linuxmusicians.com/viewtopic.php?f=48&t=13350
In fact, some stuff in guitarix have changed over the last development decade, and most of the factory presets didn't cover that. Most of them produce error messages when get loaded. I'm to busy (or lazy) to reformat them all, so I ask for new sets from users.
http://linuxmusicians.com/viewtopic.php?f=48&t=13414
Response was very, very low, so I just remove the old sets and put in a basic set of mine.
I would gladly include new sets, as soon I receive some.

regards
hermann
User avatar
brummer10
Site Admin
 
Posts: 759
Joined: Thu Mar 26, 2009 6:57 pm

Re: factory setting banks gone?

Postby kokoko3k » Mon Mar 30, 2015 9:29 am

Ok, i suspected that (not that you are lazy!).
I'll check my own presets as soon as possible and will send you.
User avatar
kokoko3k
 
Posts: 57
Joined: Wed Jan 16, 2013 12:23 pm

Re: factory setting banks gone?

Postby kokoko3k » Mon Mar 30, 2015 6:52 pm

Here we go.
They sounds at the same level as your factory preset (about -3db).
Thanks for your efforts!

-EDIT
I think i fixed the levels of other banks too (but andimat...).
Please, tell me if you want me to attach them.
Attachments
kokoko3k.gx.tar.gz
my bank
(9.91 KiB) Downloaded 46 times
User avatar
kokoko3k
 
Posts: 57
Joined: Wed Jan 16, 2013 12:23 pm

Re: factory setting banks gone?

Postby brummer10 » Tue Mar 31, 2015 2:53 am

Great kokoko
kokoko3k wrote:Ok, i suspected that (not that you are lazy!).

:D
kokoko3k wrote:I think i fixed the levels of other banks too (but andimat...).
Please, tell me if you want me to attach them.

Yes please, that would be very welcome.

regards
hermann
User avatar
brummer10
Site Admin
 
Posts: 759
Joined: Thu Mar 26, 2009 6:57 pm

Re: factory setting banks gone?

Postby kokoko3k » Tue Mar 31, 2015 7:09 am

Here, i further tweaked my own presets, so they are included in the archive as well.
forgot to tell you that there are two new presets in my personal bank, one is for the bass, the other is pretty clean (inspired from dire straits).

PS: give them all a quick check!
Attachments
banks.tar.gz
fixed banks
(22.22 KiB) Downloaded 40 times
User avatar
kokoko3k
 
Posts: 57
Joined: Wed Jan 16, 2013 12:23 pm

Re: factory setting banks gone?

Postby brummer10 » Wed Apr 01, 2015 5:44 am

Well, I give them all a short shot, none of them gives any error message any more, that's good, but it looks to me that the issue with the different output levels still exist. Some presets are really quiet, others are extreme loud. I didn't talk about the bass presets, it's pretty clear that they are quiet when use them with a guitar, but, for example the dp presets, are all extreme quiet here. The desired output level for factory presets should be between -10 <-> -3 db.

regards
hermann
User avatar
brummer10
Site Admin
 
Posts: 759
Joined: Thu Mar 26, 2009 6:57 pm

Re: factory setting banks gone?

Postby kokoko3k » Wed Apr 01, 2015 9:09 pm

They all sounds -3db here.
It is probably a matter of my input levels being higher than yours, plus limiters and compressors kickin' in for me.
Could you please tell me how many dBs you reach by hard strumming your guitar without any effect applied?
Mine reaches saturation if i strum hard enough!
Given that info, i should be able to make presets that sounds better... well, in some cases...
I don't know if there is a "standard" about input levels, i just hook my epiphone casino to the scarlett interface and set it to "instrument".

If you have more infos, i'll work on them
User avatar
kokoko3k
 
Posts: 57
Joined: Wed Jan 16, 2013 12:23 pm

Re: factory setting banks gone?

Postby brummer10 » Sat Apr 04, 2015 3:02 pm

kokoko3k wrote:It is probably a matter of my input levels being higher than yours, plus limiters and compressors kickin' in for me.


Well, limiters and compressors in the input chain will explain the variant in output levels here. Please retry without them. As standard output level you could take the attached one.

regards
hermann
Attachments
defaultgain.gx
default output db
(24.8 KiB) Downloaded 17 times
User avatar
brummer10
Site Admin
 
Posts: 759
Joined: Thu Mar 26, 2009 6:57 pm

Re: factory setting banks gone?

Postby kokoko3k » Tue Apr 07, 2015 12:13 pm

Ok, i tried one more time.
Point is... making a preset without knowing in the principle what use will be done out of it (chords, solo, riff?) is near impossible.
I tried to balance them at best as i could by trying to avoid clippings but still keeping the average level into the range -10db->0db

While doing that, i was thinking that maybe guitarix should have an "out of the presets" pre-gain that each user could adapt to his own instrument/setup and maybe another hard and fast (hard!) limiter at the end of the chain.
Attachments
banks_new.tar.gz
(24.49 KiB) Downloaded 32 times
User avatar
kokoko3k
 
Posts: 57
Joined: Wed Jan 16, 2013 12:23 pm


Return to Bug reports

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron